About Julia

Julia Herdman writes historical fiction and non-fiction.

Current projects:

Tales of Tooley Street – a series of novels set in 18th century London. Tales of Tooley Street is a work of fiction inspired by a family of apothecary surgeons who lived and worked at No. 65 Tooley Street in the London borough of Southwark.

The Numbers of Thoth – a book on the archaeology and religion of the Ancient Egyptians. The Numbers of Thoth is non-fiction.

Fiction: Sinclair Vol. One Tales of Tooley Street

Rated 5 stars by Amazon readers

Sinclair is a story of loss, love, and redemption. It’s a story about family and friends in the hostile and competitive world of 18th-century medicine.

Edinburgh surgeon James Sinclair and Captain Frank Greenwood of the Bengal Army are washed up on the Dorset coast in January 1786 when their ship sinks in a storm.

With everything they own at the bottom of the sea James and Frank return to London.

Meanwhile, the recent widow, Charlotte Leadam is on her way back to London from Yorkshire; her husband is dead and she is now at the mercy of her husband’s creditors and her ambitious mother.

A chance meeting brings Charlotte and James together but they take an instant dislike to each other. In desperate straits, Charlotte realises they can help each other.

Sinclair moves into the apothecary shop and for a while, all seems well. Living in the attic rooms over the shop their feelings for one another grow until Iona McNeal, the woman Sinclair once loved appears unexpectedly in London. Then his selfish behaviour threatens them all.

With his hopes of a relationship with Charlotte dashed Sinclair reaches his lowest ebb. He descends into melancholy and drink. He wants to reclaim Charlotte’s love but he does not know how.

The opportunity to redeem himself occurs when Charlotte’s niece is in danger of being caught up in a bigamous marriage but Charlotte is so angry with him she cannot acknowledge that he has saved her family from disgrace.

The moment of catharsis comes when Sinclair is injured and Charlotte comes to his aid but he still has to sort out the results of his disastrous relationship with Iona before they can be truly happy.

The politics of class and poverty in 18th century London are vividly described in this story of ambition, love, and betrayal.

The period is beautifully brought to life through Julia’ detailed research and fast-moving storytelling. The history of medicine is told hand in hand with a story of love, sexual desire and emotional betrayal in London, Yorkshire, and Edinburgh.

The politics of class and poverty in 18th century London are vividly described in this story of ambition, love, and betrayal.

The period is beautifully brought to life through Julia’ detailed research and fast-moving storytelling. The history of medicine is told hand in hand with a story of love, sexual desire and emotional betrayal in London, Yorkshire, and Edinburgh.

Sinclair is a compelling, romantic and poignant family drama, perfect for fans of Winston Graham‘s Poldark and Diana Gaboldon’s Outlander. If you love historical fiction you will love Sinclair.

Available in Paperback and Ebook on Amazon and Kindle

Sinclair is an excellent book for Book Groups see Book Group Corner for Free Book Group Resources

World English digital rights: The Fontaine Press, All other rights available